Music Reviews

Show: New reviews | Artists beginning with: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z 0-9 | Compilations
Lab Experiments Vol. 2 / Cookin On 3 Burners

Cookin On 3 Burners - Lab Experiments Vol. 2

Soul Messin'

"Lab Experiments Vol.2 picks up where the gritty soul of Vol.1 left off. Organist Jake Mason, guitarist Dan West and others collaborate on a number of smoking tunes with grooves to make you move. "The Jump Off" sets the disc in motion with Mason's sizzling organ riffs and West's thumping guitar licks. Up and coming vocalist Kaiit keeps the fire burning on "Warning" while Fallon Williams gritty vocals punctuate "Force Of Nature". The bands slows down the pace nice and easy on the laid back "Sunday Mumma" but this is mostly a get up and boogie affair. With notable contributions from mainstay Kylie Audist and Simon Burke, this release marks another winner from the Melbourne funk and soul group.

Reg Dancy, 12/18