Music Reviews

Show: New reviews | Artists beginning with: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z 0-9 | Compilations
Kings Left Behind / Ikebe Shakedown

Ikebe Shakedown - Kings Left Behind

Colemine Records

Another bundle of instrumental funk from the Brooklyn based band Ikebe Shakedown. "Kings Left Behind" is a collaborative effort with each band member taking part in the production. The opener "Not Another Drop" sets the tone with raw psychedelic soul layered with infectious wah wah guitar rhythms. The slow burning "Mary's Corner" is reminiscent of cinematic Western soundtracks. "No Going Back" is another winner. While the bongo and wicked guitar licks get you in the mood to groove, the brass adds the final touch of an instrumental treat. There are several parts to this band but they all come together as one. That's what makes their releases such an essential listen.

Reg Dancy, 08/19