Music Reviews

Show: New reviews | Artists beginning with: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z 0-9 | Compilations
Weapons Of Jazz Destruction / The Nostalgia 77 Octet

The Nostalgia 77 Octet - Weapons Of Jazz Destruction

Tru Thoughts Recordings

Benedic Lamdin keeps the pressure on with yet another exquisite release under the guise of The Nostalgia 77 Octet. Again this is deep jazz of the highest order and features outstanding moments such as the funked up 'Journey Home', 'Chola', a stunning waltz and the modal 'Stars' fronted by vocalist Sophie Smith. Sophie also graces 'One Step Out' and 'To Have Or To Be?', two spiritual outings. Not to be overlooked though are the gentle meanderings of 'Medusa' and 'When Love Is Strange'.

Andy Allen, 12/07