Music Reviews

Show: New reviews | Artists beginning with: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z 0-9 | Compilations
Retrospect Suite / 40 Winks

40 Winks - Retrospect Suite

Project Mooncircle

Weedy, one half of the duo known as 40 Winks compiles a collection of Spiritual Jazz edits. Weedy does a superb job of weaving beats and rhythms together as though he was playing one continuous tune. Despite the fact that only four selections are over three minutes the disc hits the mark by setting the tone for deep soulful jazz vibes that fuels your body and lifts your spirit. Weedy sets the mood with a sampling of Nina Simone on “For Us”. “Nocturnal” is rhythmic Afro-soul with blustering horns. “The Blue” is filled with heavenly rhythms by way of the Harp layered over some funky drumming. As far as edits go, “Retrospect Suite” is a work of art, a very satisfying listen and is worthy of your attention.

Reg Dancy, 02/13