Music Reviews

Show: New reviews | Artists beginning with: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z 0-9 | Compilations
After Dark / Amanda Whiting

Amanda Whiting - After Dark

Jazzman Records

"After Dark" is the new release from harpist Amanda Whiting. Ms Whiting has performed with a number fo jazz and soul luminaries from Jamie Cullum to Matthew Halsall's Gondwana orchestra. Whiting has played the harp since the age of 6 but mainly played classical music. She started building her chops in jazz in recent years and she hasn't look back. Based on this release the years of study have paid off. The disc starts out in a modal mood. "Messed Up" highlights Whiting's gentle flourishes juxtaposed with the splash of drummer John Robinson's high hat. "Stay For One" is a melancholy tune that features fellow Gondwana member Chip Wickham on flute. Wickham shows up again on the swinging tune "The Feist". Whiting ebbs and flows around Wickham warm melodies. The harp has become more promiment than ever. Let's hope this is just the beginning of delightful recordings from Whiting. Jazzman records never disappoints and this release is no exception.

Reg Dancy, 04/21