Home » Posts tagged 'pop'

Tag Archives: pop

Go.Soul.Map – Peaceful Sound for Broken Minds [Space Echo]

“Peaceful Sound for Broken Minds” is the debut from Sicilian producer Salvo ‘Dub’ Bruno aka Go Soul Map. The twelve track lp is filled with dreamy soundscapes layered over warm melodic grooves. “Back In The Underwater”, the opening track features the sultry vocals of Reiwa Pia. It’s a downtempo gem heighthened by warmsynths. London based vocalist Derane Obika appears on nine tracks. “Fall Into The Flame” features Obika’s dreamy falsetto aligned with heavenly synths. While the tempo picks up on “Right Of Me”, Bruno’s production along with Obika’s vocals ensure that the mood remains the same. Bruno has created a marvelous record filled with warmth and is certain to put your mind at ease. I’m instantly transported to a place free of stress and full of engaging grooves.


Dina Ogon – Orion [Playground Music]

Swedish band Dina Ogon return with their third album. “Orion” radiates with soft psychadelic soulful vibes. The vocal harmonies combined with dynamic rhythm section creates a wave of positive vibes felt throughout the disc. “Hall Avstand” is a dreamy tune aided by mediatitive electric guitar rhythms. “Glitter” comes in with a soft thumping beat that aligns perfectly with the vocal harmonies. This four piece group has built an underground following and it’s easy to see why. They have nailed the formula for melancholy blissful soul. The result will seduce you to repeated listens.


13th March 2023

Basic Soul
The Basic Soul Show
13th March 2023

On 14th March 1993 I hosted my first show on Dream FM in Leeds. Here’s 2 hours of music that set me on my musical journey for the last 30 years…

Pet Shop Boys – West End Boys [Parlophone]
Bronski Beat – Smalltown Boy [London Recordings]
Yazoo – Situation [Sire]
Joyce Sims – (You Are My) All And All [London Records]
Freeez – Southern Freeez [Beggars Banquet]
Level 42 – 43 [Polydor]
Sade – Hang On To Your Love [Epic]
Stevie Wonder – As [Motown]
Marvin Gaye – I Want You [Tamla Motown]
Michael Jackson – Human Nature [Epic]
Herbie Hancock – Gettin’ To The Good Part [CBS]
Womack & Womack – Baby I’m Scared Of You [Elektra]
Aretha Franklin – Jump To It [Arista]
Freda Payne – Band Of Gold [Vintage Champagne Records]
De La Soul – Me Myself And I [Tommy Boy]
EPMD – Strictly Business [Fresh Records]
Public Enemy – Public Enemy No.1 [Def Jam]
Public Enemy – Don’t Believe The Hype [Def Jam]
RUN DMC – It’s Like That [Profile Records]
Sugarhill Gang – Rapper’s Delight [Sugar Hill Records]
A Guy Called Gerald – Voodoo Ray [Warlock Records]
Orbital – Chime [FFrr]
X-Press 2 – Muzik Xpress [Junior Boy’s Own]

Tutu Amuse – Two To Amuse [Sonar Kollektiv]

Multi-instrumentalists Rosa Landers and Janek Van Laak are the duo better known as Tutu Amuse. The duo are the latest to emerge from the fertile Berlin music scene. “Two To Amuse” is a trippy collection of sublime psychedelic compositions. Landers’ tender vocals combined with Van Laak’s warped out rhythmic guitar is an intoxicating dose of mellow madness. “Cherry Rising” is a bluesy mediatitive tune driven by rumbling rhythms and Landers sultry vocals. “Ohm” is a laid-back electric guitar driven psychedelic gem. “Fertile” is another keeper with Landers vocals enhanced by deep calming basslines. Dreamy and soulful, “Two To Amuse” is a glorious ride that has a Portishead vibe. Simply put it’s another marvelous release from Sonar Kollektiv.


Tune In


03:00 African FM

04:00 Pool FM
13:00 Dinamo FM
14:00 Ness Radio


19:00 Radio 42
19:00 RauteMusik.FM

22:00 Educa Web Radio


22:00 ASSK Radio


11:00 Ness Radio

15:00 Pattern Radio