Home » Posts tagged 'uk'

Tag Archives: uk

Tess Hirst – HERstory [Jazz Re:freshed]

Tess Hirst first came to my attention during her collaboration with Bassist Daniel Casimir. Their joint album “These Days” showcased her ethereal vocals and songwriting. In addition, she was accompanied by some of London’s premiere musicians who are at the forefront of UK club culture. Hirst’s solo debut “HERstory” picks up where that album left off. The disc kicks off with the simmering “This Is Her”. Hirst’s emotive vocals intertwine seamlessly with the Tomorrow’s Warriors string section. The finale “Magic” is a tribute to their ability to rise to any challenge. This high energy tune is spearheaded by Richard Spaven’s propulsive drumming and Casimir’s driving bass rhythms. Pianist Sarah Tandy completes the band and their cohesion is notable. London based label Jazz re:freshed continues to be the place for superb Jazz recordings. This marvelous lp is no exception.


Isatta Sheriff & Koralle – Eat The Kiwi Skin [Melting Pot Music]

Isatta Sheriff & Koralle – Eat The Kiwi Skin [Melting Pot Music]
London born MC Isatta Sheriff teams up with Italian beat maker Koralle. “Eat The Kiwi Skin” is filled with laidback soulful beats reminiscent of their acclaimed 2021 release, “Laid Back”. On “Window Thoughts”, fellow South Londoner MC Lex Amor jumps on board. Amor’s slow emotive tone is an ideal complement to Sheriff’s rapid fire delivery. “For Those Who Love” serenades you with swaying piano melodies and the soothing vocals from Merci. “What You Tellin Me” is classic drum snare boom bap that provides the canvas for Isatta to showcase her unlimited lyrical skills. Koralle’s laid back jazz infused beats have made him a go to producer for a number of hip hop artists. Evidence lies in the number of tasty edits on board here. Meanwhile Isatta has worked with premier talent such as Flying Lotus and Oddisee. If you dig laid back soulful hip hop then this is the lp for you. The arrow is trending upwards for these two.


Tune In


03:00 African FM

04:00 Pool FM
13:00 Dinamo FM
14:00 Ness Radio


19:00 Radio 42
19:00 RauteMusik.FM

22:00 Educa Web Radio


22:00 ASSK Radio


11:00 Ness Radio

15:00 Pattern Radio